Two Abitibians on the podium of the Challenge Sprint Abitibi

Amos, July 11, 2022 – The 52nd edition of the Tour de l’Abitibi officially started today in Amos. 13 teams were presented to the audience who came to assist to this first day of race. They were then able to enjoy the performances of the best sprinter of each team in the Challenge Sprint Abitibi, sponsored by the Government of Canada.

Jérôme Gauthier from Amos won this unofficial stage of the Tour de l’Abitibi. After suffering a concussion during a Nation’s cup race last May, he is now on team Québec for the 52nd edition of the Tour. In 2021, he was also crowned Quebec champion, as well as Canadian champion.

The challenge finally held the audience attentive as the France rider, Mathieu Dupé, was following him closely and won the second place. For the first time since 2010, two riders from Abitibi were on the podium tonight. Indeed, Thomas Périgny, from team Subway, won the bronze medal.

Stage 1, sponsored par Agnico Eagle

Tomorrow will be the first official stage of the 52nd Tour de l’Abitibi. The cyclists will leave from Rouyn-Noranda, in front of the Cégep de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue at 4 :45 pm. They will ride across the Aiguebelle National Park for the second time. The final arrival is expected to be at 7 :10 pm in Amos, in front of the cathedral, to complete a total of 131,7 km.


– 30 –

Source :

Antoine Deraps
Communication agent
Tour cycliste de l’Abitibi inc.
[email protected]

Articles similaires